Are you in need of reliable tactics that can aid in overcoming grief? If yes, understanding the various stages of grief discussed below can undoubtedly be very essential to your needs. Grief refers to a natural reaction or response to losing a person you love or treasure so much or something that is very important to you. Courtesy of grief, you will most likely encounter a variety of different emotions such as loneliness or sadness. Here at Addicts Helpline we know there are several reasons that are likely to cause grief. For instance, losing a loved one, being fired from your current job, a relationship with your spouse you treasured so much ending as well as other life changes such as suffering from a chronic illness or shifting from your current city or home to another, are some of the factors that can lead to grief. However, the most common cause of grief is losing a loved one.

According to fact- findings, people often grieve differently. However, any victim of grief once he or she can understand his/ her emotions, take proper care of him or herself, and seek for the assistance of a qualified counselor if necessary can heal very fast. Here are the various stages of grief.

The Various Stages of Grief you Need to Know

People’s feelings once they become victims of grief may happen in different phases as they come to terms with their loss. Even though you cannot control the process of grief, it is very important you know the reason behind your feelings. Medical researchers have identified recently five common phases of grief including:

#1: Denial and Isolation

Once you learn about the illness, death or loss of a loved one or in case you discover you’ve lost anything else that you really cherish, the first reaction you are supposed to partake is denying the reality of such of situation. Try to convince yourself that such kind of situation you’re experiencing cannot be happening to you. This is a usual reaction you can use to rationalize your overwhelming emotions.

According to professional counselors, denial is a normal defense mechanism you can use to buffer the immediate shock numbing you to your emotions. It is a defense mechanism commonly used by people to block out the facts and hide from the reality.

Once most people become victims of grief, they will start believing that life has no meaning and nothing else can ever be of such value than the loss. Once you experience grief, this phase will be a temporary response which will carry you through your first wave of depression and/ or pain.

#2: Anger

Addicts Helpline understands when experiencing grief, once your masking effect of denial as well as isolation starts to wear, reality about the situation and the pain associated with it will re- emerge. Since at this phase you are not very reedy to accept the loss, your intense emotion will certainly be deflected from your vulnerable core; a factor that will make such emotions to be redirected and expressed in form of anger. Your anger can be aimed at complete strangers, inanimate objects, family members or friends. Most people can also direct their anger to their deceased or dying loved one or to the item they may have lost, which is making them suffer from grief. If the grief is because of losing a loved one, though we know the dead individual is not supposed to be blamed, most people may resent that person for leaving them or for causing them pain.

This may eventually make such people feel very guilty due to being angry, which can make them turn out to be even more angry. If the deceased person’s death was because of a disorder, the specific physician who diagnosed the disease or the medical pro that was not able to cure the illness may turn out to be a convenient target.

Even though most doctors normally experience death of their patients daily, this does not make such medical professionals immune to those people who grief for the loss of their loved ones. If possible, it is important you inquire from the doctor who was treating the deceased person about what factors led to the death of the person. The doctor will alert you everything you need to know humbly and apply his or her professional tactics to ensure you’re able to accept the loss.

#3: Bargaining

The usual reaction to feeling of helplessness after the loss of a loved one is trying to bargain through remaining control via a series of several ’if only’ statements like:

*If only I had taken him to hospital earlier.

*If only I had advised him to quit drinking alcohol.

’If only’ is a statement usually applied by most people when trying to bargain the loss of a loved one. However, this is often considered a weak line of defense used by people to protect themselves from the painful truth.

Guilt usually leads to bargain making people believe there is something they could have done and prevented the loss from happening.

#4: Depression

There are two different kinds of depression which are linked with mourning. One includes reacting as a result to losing a loved one, which is dominated by sadness and regret. This type of depression is associated with worries about the person experiencing grief believing the time he shared together with the deceased was not enough. The second kind of depression is whereby the person experiencing grief has personal scores or factors he had not settled with the deceased.

#5: Acceptance

Our Team at Addicts Helpline knows reaching this phase of grieving is not that easy, since accepting the loss as it happened, and the deceased will never be seen again is difficult. This stage is normally marked by the person grieving trying to be calm and adhering to tricks that will assist him or her move on with life. Mingling with friends and participating in different activities you like so much can make you accept the loss and be able to cope with life.

Bottom Line

As you’ve seen, overcoming grief is not that easy. The best way to deal with grief is allowing yourself to feel it as it is coming over you.